Luke Harlan is a director, performer, producer, and educator living and working in New York. Luke holds an MFA from the Yale School of Drama, where he directed Thornton Wilder’s The Skin of Our Teeth and Shakespeare’s The Winter’s Tale, as well as the premiere of Brendan Pelsue’s New Domestic Architecture. At the Yale Cabaret, Luke  directed Will Eno’s Middletown, Greg Keller’s Dutch Masters, Tarell Alvin McCraney’s The Brothers Size, and Erin Courtney’s A Map of Virtue. Luke was the Co-Artistic Director of the Yale Summer Cabaret’s 40th Anniversary Season, where he also directed work by Rolin Jones, Mary Laws, MJ Kaufman, and Hansol Jung.

In New York, Luke directed the New York Times Critic’s Pick Honky by Greg Kalleres and co-wrote and performed in the New York Times Critic’s Pick home/sick by The Assembly. Luke has developed new plays at The Public Theater, New York Theater Workshop, Tectonic Theater Project, The New Group, The Kennedy Center, Columbia University, and the O’Neill Theater Center, among others. He is the founding Artistic Director of the Brooklyn-based theater company Engine Company No. 11, with whom he directed 1Rove at the Bushwick Starr, among others.

Luke’s work has been seen from San Francisco to New York, downtown and Off-Broadway, regionally, and internationally at such places as the Old Vic Theatre in London. He has directed world premieres, classics, devised works, musicals, chamber pieces, and epics. He also works with students at Universities like Yale, Columbia, Hunter College, and The University of Alabama at Birmingham.

Luke has also assisted on many productions with directors across the country and the world such as James Bundy, Moisés Kaufman, Peter DuBois, and most recently with Russian visionary director Dmitry Krymov, on his newest work, and first English-language premiere, √3Sisters.

Luke is a Co-Founder of the Working Theater Director’s Salon, a Finalist for the Opera America Robert L. Tobin Director-Designer Showcase 2017, member of the T.S. Eliot US/UK Exchange, a Eugene O’Neill Center Directing Fellow, a Kennedy Center Directing Fellow, and recipient of the SDC National Directing Award.